Members from England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales all elect up to ten Directors annually and from those Directors, members of the Society Council are elected annually, and it is the Council which is the ISDS governing body. Council members also act as the Trustees of the Society.

Each of the four home nations (England, Ireland, Scotland and Wales) elects a Junior and Senior Vice President and a National President. The Chairman of the ISDS is also elected, and as well as chairing meetings, each Chairman has been at the forefront of advancing the Society and in determining policy.

The day to day administration of the ISDS is run by staff based at the ISDS office in Bedford, where the administrative staff carry out the day to day tasks of the Society.

Society Chairman    Simon Mosse


National Presidents   Term of Office  
England Andy R Jackman 2017/2021  
Ireland Allistair Lyttle 2018/2022  
Scotland Ian Brownlie 2015/2019  
Wales Eirian Morgan 2016/2020  
President Elect Jimmy Ogston    
Council Members      
England Robin Dean Mike Northwood Richard Smith
Ireland Frank Cashen Brian Kelly Toddy Lambe
Scotland John MacKillop Stuart McCrindle Neil Gillon
Wales W Meirion Owen Emyr Lloyd Stan Harden

Available from the office